Monday morning writing joke: “Once around the block”

A writer goes to his doctor.

Writer: “Doc, can you give me something? I’ve been trying to write for a year now, but can’t get it done.”

Doctor: “Are you saying you suffer from writer’s block?”

Writer: “That’s my story.”

Doctor: “If that’s your story, how can you have writer’s block?”

The writer then goes to his psychiatrist.

Writer: “Doc, can you give me something? I’ve been trying to write for a year now, but can’t get it done.”

Psychiatrist: “Are you saying you suffer from writer’s block?”

Writer: “That’s what I said.”

“Not exactly.”

“What does that mean?”

Psychiatrist: “It means your problems are rooted in your expectations.”

“Yes,” the writer said. “I’m expecting you to help me.”

In desperation the writer goes to his mother.

Writer, in tears: “Mom, I’ve been trying to write for a year now, but can’t get it done.”

Mom: “Why’s that?”

Writer: “I think I suffer from writer’s block.”

Mom: “You know, your Dad had that same problem when I married him, and I was able to help him.”

Writer, his face brightening: “How, Mom, how?!”

Mom: “I had you and the bum had to find a job and go to work.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017, joke by author, Monday morning writing joke

Leave a Reply

