Photo finish Friday: “Chicken”

A special delicacy, if you can stomach it.

A special delicacy, if you can stomach it.

Chicken

by David E. Booker

Boneless Skinless Children’s Thighs.
Picked up a pack and to my surprise
The taste just hit me right between the eyes:
chicken.

Didn’t matter how I had them made:
Sautéed, fried, or in a marinade.
One small taste did all to persuade:
chicken.

I even tried eleven herbs and spices.
Mixed in rice, lettuce, and tomato slices.
It did not matter what culinary devices:
chicken.

I consulted a cannibal from a foreign land.
Who said such boneless thighs would not stand.
Children were not on his diet plan:
chicken.

Boneless Skinless Children’s Thighs.
I saw the ad right before my own eyes.
I handed the neighbors’ kids over with no good-byes:
chicken.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2016, Photo Finish Friday, poetry by author

Leave a Reply

