O’ weekend

Oh, where is my weekend
my kindly ol’ weekend
the one meant to take me away?
I am ready right now
like an old bell on a cow
to clamor and clapper away
to ring in once again
to announce Let Us Begin
the start of a weekend day.
The sunlight upon me
swoops down to taunt me
and lead my old cow astray.
With its bell it’s ringing
and its low moo it’s singing
for the start of some fun today.
So, where are you my weekend
my kindly ol’ weekend
come now and take me way.

–by David E. Booker

Leave a comment

Filed under 2016, poetry by author

Leave a Reply

