What Not to Say to Bookstore Employees

Source: http://bookriot.com/2015/07/03/what-not-to-say-to-bookstore-employees-2/

Avoid bookstore faux pas like the following while speaking to the overworked bookstore employees with their smocks and helpful head nods:

  1. How much does this cost on Amazon?
  2. How can you work here when Amazon Prime exists? Are you on Amazon Prime?
  3. I’m a writer and I don’t want to waste my time, so which of these should I actually read?
  4. I only read signed copies. Where is the signed section?
  5. I don’t need help. I just come by the bookstore to hit on the smart people buying Ulysses for light, fun reading.
  6. I don’t need help. I just want to write down all of Giada’s recipes.
  7. I don’t need help. I’m just figuring out where my book will be shelved once I finish it, get an agent, sell it, and get it stocked here, in this location.
  8. I don’t need help. I’m just writing notes on page fifteen of every book. I’m creating a treasure hunt for the bookish.
  9. Which of these is going to be a movie? I want to judge the future movie by the past cover.
  10. How many teens die in this one? I only respond to mass numbers of teen deaths.
  11. If I just spilled my coffee on the hardcover book of swimming dogs, should I tell you about it?

Rest of the list at: http://bookriot.com/2015/07/03/what-not-to-say-to-bookstore-employees-2/

Leave a comment

Filed under 2015, books, bookstore

Leave a Reply

