Random act of poetry: “Evening”

Oh, heaven in my bed
I lay me down when enough is said.
It has been a tiring day:
with bills and chores and problems that stay.
Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray my slumber be not too steep.
For if I die before I wake
there will be hell to pay, make no mistake!

[Okay, so it’s not a writing tip. Been a busy day, including an unexpected bill for $600. And now I’m in the middle of baking a Valentine’s cake for my daughter’s class tomorrow. –Poem and commentary by David E. Booker]

1 Comment

Filed under poetry by author

One response to “Random act of poetry: “Evening”

  1. Pingback: Random act of poetry: “Evening” | Blog of JOKES

Leave a Reply

